National Project
2016-2017 Research Grants

At the 2016 National Convention held in Cleveland, OH, the membership voted to give $336,132.00 total in research grants.  The six (6) doctors listed below each received $52,022.00 for the 2016-2017 fiscal year.

Each request for funding is reviewed and evaluated by a volunteer Medical Advisory Board, consisting of five (5) leading researchers at major research institutions across the country.  After their rating of each proposal, the Phi Beta Psi Board of Directors makes the final decision of which grants will be presented to the membership for approval.

All researchers who are approved for funding must submit a progress report at the end of the fiscal year.  They must explain how and where the money was spent, and the results that occurred.  Their grants will be extended for a second year if the Medical Advisory Board feels that progress is being made. Click here to learn how to apply for a research grant.

Zachary T Schafer, Ph.D.
University of Notre Dame
Project: Breast Cancer

Jennifer Deluca, Ph.D.
Colorado State University
Project: Glioblastoma Brain Cancer

Lorenzo Sempere, Ph.D.
Van Andel Research Institute, Grand Rapids, MI
Project: Pancreatic Cancer

Krithika N. Kodumudi, Ph.D.
Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL
Project: Colorectal Cancer

David Waning, M.D., Ph.D.
Penn State College of Medicine, Hershey, PA
Project: Breast Cancer

Qi-En Wang, M.D.
Ohio State University
Project: Lung Cancer